Sharing

Sharing vs. Publishing

There are two ways to share files and folders in CentreStack – publishing and sharing.

  • Publishing:

    Only available for the administrator who can share any tenant-wide folder. It will only work with team-users in a specific CentreStack account (tenant account). Publishing a team folder can’t go outside of the tenant scope.

  • Sharing:

    Both the administrator and team-users can share files with anyone that has an email address. The recipient of the share will get an email with a link to open the folder or download the file. If the email recipient is also a CentreStack Cloud user, he/she can access the shared file or folder directly from the CentreStack.

    Administrators can prevent team-users from sharing if needed.

Sharing Files And Folders

File Sharing

To share a file, click it and select the Share icon (1)revealed in the header of the file. You can also right click the file and select Share (2) in the context menu. Once the file is selected, if the right panel (3) is open, there is a Share link (4) there as well.

_images/image_s15_1_1.png

SHARING FILES

After clicking ‘Share’ above, in ‘Invite People’ window, click the email field (5) and enter email addresses seperated by semicolons (;) for anyone that needs access to the file. You can also add notes (6) if required. Click CONTINUE (7).

_images/image_s15_1_2.png

INVITE PEOPLE TO YOUR SHARE

On the second share window you have access to the share options panel where you can make important decisions such as how long you want the share to be active and how much control you want to give the user (e.g., read only, full control access). You can also make this share available to the public by get

_images/image_s15_1_3.png

SHARE OPTIONS PANEL

You can access previously shared items by clicking the share icon (2) on a folder of file. Other shares can be accessed by opening the right panel (1) and clicking the edit button (3) next to the “Shared Items” option.

_images/image_s15_1_4.png

ACCESSING SHARED ITEMS SETTINGS

Folder Sharing

In this example, the icon view has been changed to detailed view (1) of the files in this folder. To share a folder, mouse-over it and select the Share icon (2) in its row. You can also right click the file and select ‘Share’ in the context menu.

_images/image_s15_1_5.png

SHARING FOLDERS

Removing shares

During share setup, a user can define its expiration date. Once the share expires, other users will no longer be able to access the shares.

Users can also delete the share manually. First go to the Drive Root (1).

To delete a user’s access to a share, open the right panel click the “Manage” icon (2) on shared items. In the next panel choose the item you wish to modify, then in the pop-up window, click the Delete icon (3) to remove this user’s permission from the share.

_images/image_s15_1_6.png

DELETING A USER’S PERMISSION

Accessing ‘Files/Folders Shared With Me’

When a file or folder is shared with the user, he/she will get an email. The link in the email can be used to open the file or folder.

If the user has a CentreStack account with the given email address, the shared files and folders will appear under the ‘Files shared with me’ folder, in both the CentreStack Web Portal and CentreStack Desktop App.

Web Portal

You can access shared files by clicking the drop-down menu (1) under “Places” in the “File Browser” view of the Web Portal.

_images/image_s15_1_8.png

WEB PORTAL SHARED FILES LOCATION

Windows Client

In the Windows Client you can access shared files by using windows explorer to navigate to the Cloud Drive (1) where you will find any shared files listed (2) with information about who shared (3) the file with you.

_images/image_s15_1_9.png

WINDOWS CLIENT SHARED FILES LOCATION

If the user has write permission to the folder shared, he can modify the files in the folder.

Preventing Users From Sharing

Sometimes for security reasons, users should not be allowed to share files/folders.

There are two types of files and folders a user can access.

  • User’s own folders, including versioned folders and attached local folders from the user’s desktop.

When an administrator creates new users, he/she can check ‘Disable sharing home directory content with external party, to prevent the newly created user from sharing his/her own files and folders.

_images/image_s15_1_10.png

MANAGE USER SETTINGS

In the Manage User panel use the drop-down menu (4) to access the “Storage” settings (5). Once you are in the Storage View you can select (6) the “Disable team-user share home directory content externally” option.

_images/image_s15_1_11.png

DISABLE EXTERNAL SHARING

When publishing a team folder, administrator can check ‘Disable further sharing’, to prevent users from sharing anything in the team folder. You can access this setting after choosing your storage location. Click the “Create Team Folder” icon (1) and select your storage type (2), then select the “Disable further sharing” option (3).

_images/image_s15_1_12.png

DISABLE FURTHER SHARING

Protecting Shares By Requiring Login

When a user shares a file or folder, CentreStack will generate a URL. By default, anyone can use the URL to access the share.

Administrators can protect shares by requiring login credentials. Once enabled, when a user accesses the share URL, he /she will be prompted to login to the CentreStack Cloud. After login, the user can view the file/folder shared with him/her under ‘Files shared with me’.

To access this setting use the drop-down menu (1) and in the “Group Policy -> Sharing” (2) panel, select the “…user must login to his/her account…” setting.

_images/image_s15_1_13.png

SECURING SHARED FILES AND FOLDERS